What is technique and how do you develop it?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by theguitarshaver559, Feb 8, 2017.

1. theguitarshaver559

theguitarshaver559 Active Member

Since I'm new to the whole safety razor thing and I haven't shaved with a safety razor yet, and I read people saying you need technique, I am just wondering what technique is and how you develop it. I won a 1960's Schick Krona DE razor on Ebay hours ago and I payed for it and it should reach me within a few days or a couple weeks. I also bought blades for the razor. I really do appreciate the help so far, and I hope it goes on!

Keithmax, RyX, RaZorBurn123 and 2 others like this.
  2. Demidog

Demidog Well-Known Member

It entails using the proper blade angle, not applying any pressure, creating a good lather, and finding what works best for you and then sticking to it. You develop it by shaving and by learning from your mistakes.

A lot of members recommend sticking to the same razor, blade, soap, brush, and aftershave for at least 30 shaves in order to eliminate variables so that you can focus on your technique.

RyX, Herm2502, Marc D and 3 others like this.
  3. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

I suggest you check out YouTube videos by Mantic59. He's good at giving you the basics of how to wet shave. He also reviews razors, soaps and other things shaving related.

The best advice I received was(1) NO pressure - unlike a cartridge razor a DE does not require you to use pressure. Just let the weight of the razor do the work. If you use too much pressure you'll end up with skin irritation or cuts.

(2) Use a shallow angle. What's a shallow angle? Place the top of your Krona against your face, handle parallel to the floor. Then tilt the handle down just until you feel the blade. THAT'S the angle you want to hold throughout your shave. Use your arm muscles and keep a steady wrist.