I just received my first DE safety razor. :)

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by chan4070, Feb 15, 2017.

1. chan4070

chan4070 Member

For the last month I've been on the fence about purchasing a safety razor and after viewing a number of Nick Shaves videos on Youtube, I decided to pull the trigger and I purchased an Edwin Jagger DE89Lbl via Amazon. I also purchased the razor sampler pack but I used the supplied Derby Extra blades that came with it. I received the set today and wow, I was surprised at the close shave I received. I've been shaving for close to 30 years and this is the closest shave I ever think I've received. I am a convert. I can't wait until my technique gets a bit more refined and I can use some sharper blades. I am so hooked.

2. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

Excellent. The DE89 is a fine razor.

Carbide Mike likes this.
  3. Houdini5150

Houdini5150 Member

welcome to the club.

So what cream or soap did you shave with?

Carbide Mike likes this.
  4. chan4070

chan4070 Member

Houdini, I am using the Sir Hare Classic Barber scent soap.

Carbide Mike and RyX like this.
  5. Jorvaljr

Jorvaljr Operation Daytona 8000

Congrats

Carbide Mike likes this.
  6. Matt0210

Matt0210 Well-Known Member

Congrats. It only gets better. Next thing you know you'll have a dozen different soaps, brushes, razors, the whole ball of wax.

Carbide Mike likes this.
  7. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member