Total newb review of blades in my sampler pack

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by r1nzler, Mar 3, 2017.

1. r1nzler

r1nzler Member

[​IMG]

Hello all. I saw this safety blade at walmart so i decided to give it a try (guess is basically a Weishi).

I started with the stock blades, went through about 3 of em, and no matter what i was choppin my face up and getting a shave worse than my Shick Quattro.

So anyways reading these forums i read that i should try different blades and see what works for me. I picked up the 120 B package on Amazon and so far here are my ratings.

Once i review all of them I plan on going through them all again, as my skill will increase and rule out the possibility of a bad blade.

My style of shaving so far as evolved to 3 passes. With grain, across grain, and finish against the grain.

The first number is how i felt during the shave, comfortability and speed. The second number is the result of the shave, how smooth my face felt etc.

Van Der Hagen kit blades 2/3 (face butchered)
    No matter what i did with this blades the results were just bad.

Gillete Green box Russia 7/7
    Wow a very comfortable shave and i could be totally careless and get a good shave.

Lord super stainless egypt 3/4 (2 cuts)
    Got these things were just horrible, hard to get a nice shave, alot of tugging.

Astra Superior Platinum Russia 8/9
    Wow...this was an awesome feeling shave, so comfy on my face and awesome feedback. Smoothest face yet. Didnt even need to shave the next day.

Treet Platinum Pakistan 6.5/8
    These for whatever reason werent as comfy as the previous Astras, i felt the shave was gonna be just average. After i cleaned up tho my face was pretty smooth.

Feather High Stainless Japan 6.9/9.4
    Just tried these tonight. Not the most comfy shave but decent. After i cleaned up...oh lord my face was very smooth, even more then the Astras.

Derby Greenbox. 7/5.5