Total newb review of blades in my sampler pack

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by r1nzler, Mar 3, 2017.

1. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

Welcome! I like how you rated the blades. I've had many occasions where the 'journey' was not nearly as pleasant as the 'destination', meaning the process of shaving was not as good as the result. I've found the Astra SP blades to be the best combination of both. Nice info.

HERM

r1nzler likes this.
  2. r1nzler

r1nzler Member

Yea I was looking at picking up the Russian sample pack i saw on amazon and giving them a run. I believe it includes both of those!

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

3. RetLEO-07

RetLEO-07 likes his penguin deep fried, with pink sparkles

Once you try the Voskies, you'll be hooked I'm thinkin'.

PLANofMAN and r1nzler like this.
  4. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    As someone who really loves Astra SP's, I figured Voskhod would be good for me too. My hair is just too thick/heavy for real enjoyment with Voskhod. The smoothness ends up just feeling like a dull blade to me. It took me a while to realize it, as I was keeping blades in razors and swapping them out when they "felt" dull, without paying much attention to the number of times they had been used. I'm sure I tossed a number of Voskhod blades after one or two uses without realizing it.

Astras I can use for seven to fourteen two pass shaves any day of the week.

5. Engblom

Engblom Well-Known Member

I find Sputnik to be slightly sharper and longer lasting than Voskhod.

The longevity of a blade is secondary for me, the smoothness of the shave is primary. I want to spoil my face. Some brands just can't take many shaves. Even the ultra-sharp Feather is a giving fewer shaves than for example the less sharp KAI.

PLANofMAN likes this.
  6. r1nzler

r1nzler Member

Lord Super Chrome 6/5.5