Straight shaving

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Dansco, Jan 14, 2018.

1. Dansco

Dansco Well-Known Member

Blunt razor or very skilled shaver?

I feel like my GOTTA would be taking lumps out of my face if I was putting that much pressure on.

I'm brand new to straights and not very good yet.

Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
    Keithmax likes this.
  2. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

He definitely goes to town on himself with that thing, so he for sure has a good feel for what he’s doing, or he would have flayed himself open like a trout. He also is pretty comfortable rolling the blade over the contours of his face, so I am going with a dude who has done this quite a few times.

3. Keithmax

Keithmax Breeds Pet Rocks

If his blade was dull there would have been a lot more blood. I am going with Jared, he has done this before. I have never shaved off 7 months of growth with a straight so I can't comment on the damage. I shaved the beard off 17 years ago, long before I discovered our hobby.

Spyder and Dansco like this.
  4. Timwcic

Timwcic Well-Known Member

There was some good technique in the video. Did not watch the whole show, just jumped around. WTG, ATG, XTG, skin stretching and muscle manipulation was not bad. IMHO the lad had held a blade before and did a good job on skin that has not seen a bevel in some time

5. Dansco

Dansco Well-Known Member

I assumed he must be quite experienced! Can anyone explain how he looks like he's putting on a lot of pressure? Or maybe he's not... ?

Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
    Spyder likes this.
  6. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

I don’t know how to explain this so that it makes sense. It is a cross between muscle memory and a Jedi’s mastery of the force. The same concept holds when a newbie starts with DE, or an experienced DE guy starts with straights.