Slant DE razor

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by DaveO, Feb 12, 2018.

1. DaveO

DaveO Active Member

I have been using a Merkur Futur razor with Astra blades for a few years. Lately I have been thinking of getting a slant blade DE razor. What are the differences? Do they shave closer, but more aggressively? What brands and models do you recommend?

Jim99 and RyX like this.
  2. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man

The come in all flavors mild to wild. What are you looking for?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

RyX likes this.
  3. DaveO

DaveO Active Member

I prefer closer to mild. Just wondering if they give a closer shave. I guess that I could go in three directions with my Futur and get the same result. Down, sideways, and up strokes.

RyX likes this.
  4. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man

One cannot generalize, no just being a slant doesn't mean a closer shave . As I said they vary hugely in weight, aggression, and there are also two different types, regular slants and twisted.

Honestly all the slants I own are milder than my Futur by a lot and while they are all good none are among my go-to razors. They are all inexpensive and any one is worth a shot!

PAA Bakelite Slant (super lightweight)
    Maggard Slant
    German 37
    RR Stealth Slant clone (Manly Stuff; super heavy)

Last edited: Feb 12, 2018
    RyX and Jim99 like this.
  5. Engblom

Engblom Well-Known Member

No, a slant does not shave closer just because of the slanting. Closeness is all about geometry (blade exposure, angle and gap). The main benefit of slants, as I see it, is cleaner cuts with less tugging.

Compare it with a knife slicing vegetables. Regardless if you hold the blade as a guillotine, or straight you get the same big slices. It does not change the slice size, only how easy you slice through the vegetable.

My own favorite slant (iKon X3) is super mild and it is my go to razor.

Primotenore and RyX like this.
  6. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice