Best Merkur Razor for a Beginner

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by e.w, Jul 28, 2010.

1. e.w

e.w New Member

What would be the best Merkur for a total beginner?

And what's all this about open comb and safety bar? Which is better?

Also, what blades would you recommend for a beginner ?

Thanks.

2. Teacher

Teacher New Member

While I don't own it, the 34C (heavy duty) gets a lot of love. It has a safety bar. In general, open comb razors CAN be more aggressive, but that certainly isn't always true. I don't really know if the Merkur 11C is more aggressive than the 34C or not. Others with more experience will fill you in on this.

Another one you might want to consider is the Edwin Jagger DE89L. It's beautifully made (most say better than Merkurs) and can be had for a similar price online. It's a smooth, fairly mild shaver, and I have yet to hear of anybody who dislikes it. I have the Muehle R89, which is the exact same head as the DE89L but on a different handle. I think the Muehle handle is nicer handle (it's nicely knurled), but the razor is more expensive. Look them both up to see which one you'd rather have.

3. Sparafucile

Sparafucile Member

Better than a Merkur, I think would be the Jagger 86/87 or 89 (same head, different handles) which are about $28 at: http://www.qedusa.com

The fit and finish is heads and shoulders over a Merkur, and it is mild and easy to handle.

Blades? Get a sampler. I use Feather or Kai, which are the two sharpest blades available; many here find them too sharp...

Enjoy your new DE!

4. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

If you want a brand new three piece razor and you think you want a Merkur, I think the EJ89 is a better buy. I have a Merkur 23C that is good, but I reach for my EJ89 or my Muhle R106 more than the Merkur.

As far as 3 piece razors go, I reach for my Feather Portable more than any of the other 3 piece razors I have, and it only cost me $12.00.