Newbie figuring out what to buy

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Skijumper, Aug 2, 2011.

1. Skijumper

Skijumper New Member

Hey Guys,
    I'm going to give wet shaving a go and I'm trying to figure out what all I need to get started.
    I'm a student so I'm trying to keep this as economical as possible. I've been putting together a list of what I'm thinking about getting and any input would be awesome

Razor-Trying to decide between a Lord Premium, A Merkur, a parker or a Weishi, the weishi is priced well but I think I'd like something more European. I'd like to spend less than $25 dollars preferably, which would you guys recommend?

Brush: Omega Marshmallow Pure Badger Brush $14.95
    or
    Escali Pure Badger Brush $13.95
    Based on your experiences would I be better off getting a boar hair brush for this price? It seems like both of these are on the cheap side for Badger brushes.

Shaving Cream: Proraso (which would you recommend for a beginner, cream or soap?)

What is a good beginner sample pack of blades to get?

Should I also get some pre/post shave cream now as well or is that something I can wait to spend money on later?

Aftershave: is it just for the scent or is it also essential in getting a good shave?

I've also been reading that I should get a styptic pen and alum block, thoughts?

2. Regan

Regan Well-Known Member

I would recommend he Omega just because of how many people love their brushes.

It would be tough to get a new Merkur for less than 25. Try the ebays might be able to find one there.
    For finding a razor this thread is great to help you choose what you want.

http://theshaveden.com/forums/threads/im-a-new-wetshaver-which-razor-should-i-get-pic-heavy.16364/

I would recomend a cream to start. For the blade sampler many sites offer them. TSD has one that is somewhat smaller than others but it is great and cheap as well.