New Member Shaves Dry

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by grandpa shaver, Sep 25, 2011.

1. battle.munky

battle.munky Has the menthol.munky on his back!

:greet002:

While unconventional, I don't think that you are offending any of us around here. So don't sweat it and do what works to get you the best shave you can get. I may try different stuff that people bring up but ultimately I do what I want to and it sounds like you are doing the same. More power to you Sir, and I hope your day is as good as it can be.

:poze:

2. scott wein

scott wein Well-Known Member

Welcome and happy birthday. I look forward to learning from .

3. Joe

Joe Member

That's great to hear. You found what works for you....I'm a newbie and still searching.....

4. Smooth

Smooth Member

Thanks for posting a different technique, it never crossed my mind to use vaseline as a shave cream. I have heard of people using hand cream like coco butter.

5. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave

Some people have used Noxzema Skin Cleansing Cream as a shaving cream.

[​IMG]

The Vaseline, Noxzema and other heavy cream or thick gel items work in the same way as the brushless creams such as Barbasol, Burma-Shave, etc. It provides cushion and slickness without lather.

Some shavers, perish the thought, prefer latherless creams.

If it works, use it!

6. Joe

Joe Member

I absolutely love Noxzema! Never used it as shave cream, might be worth a try, but for many years, till now, been using Noxzema brand shaving cream in a can, and use the above cream as after shave all over my face. Feels so refreshing after a shave and shower!

7. SharpSpine

SharpSpine Well-Known Member

I use the Noxzema as a part of my pre-shave prep sometimes. Used it this morning in fact and noticed a much better shave than my last shave, even using the same equipment otherwise.

8. Howard

Howard Active Member