How can I properly sanitize a previously owned safety razor?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by A440, Aug 2, 2012.

1. A440

A440 New Member

Hey, new here and wondering how to get started. Conventional modern razors irritate my skin to no end, and I recently saw a YouTube video that said old fashioned safety razors do not pull the beard hair prior to cutting it, and were alot easier on the skin if used correctly.

I like antiques alot anyway, so I am bidding on a beautiful 1950's safety razor. Question is, I am also a professional germ-a-phobe, and was wondering if you guys knew how I could sanitize the thing sufficently.

Also any recommendations on a good quality pack of razors?

Thanks!

A

2. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

Once it arrives, if you give it a good dousing of Scrubbing Bubbles and a Soft Toothbrush it will sterilize and bring back a nice shine to the razor itself as well.

As for a quality pack of razors, go for a sampler pack - lots of brands, face types, beard types and it's best for your face to tell you which one suits you best. Here's a few vendors that have sampler packs:
    http://www.theshavedenshop.com/index.php?_a=product&product_id=213
    http://connaughtshaving.com/samplepack.html
    http://www.westcoastshaving.com/Sample-Packs_c_1.html

JayPo007 likes this.
  3. A440

A440 New Member

Sounds good, buying a sample pack now

Thanks!

4. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team