'71 Gillette Black Beauty super-adjustable

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by ins0ma, Apr 30, 2013.

1. ins0ma

ins0ma Well-Known Member

The Black Beauty showed up late last week, and so far so good. Everything works perfectly, and it's in great shape overall. It find it hard to believe it's 2 years older than I am. The date code "RR" is stamped on the bottom, apparently a mis-stamp from the factory sometime in 1971. Even though it's the short-handled version, it feels significantly heavier in the hand than you'd think from looking at it, and the adjustment band clicks precisely through the 1-9 range. The TTO mechanism works as it should, and locks the blade in very securely with the final 1/4 turn of the bottom section of the handle.

[​IMG]

I really like that it's adjustable. I'm still very new to DE shaving, and after mildly flaying myself with my initial Merkur 1904/Feather blade combo, I went in the other direction with this one by setting it on 1 and using an Astra SP. This is allowing me to work on my technique without carving myself up, and as things improve I'll move the dial up step by step until I find the "burn point," and then back off a click. I suppose one might accomplish the same thing with the angle the razor is held at, but for a newbie like myself, it's great to be able to mechanically control the aggressiveness of the razor itself. The Astra blades are also proving to be far more forgiving than the Feathers, although since most available threads on this particular issue conclude the same, it won't come as news to many here.

[​IMG]