1959 Gillette Fatboy

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Dan72w, Dec 29, 2011.

1. Dan72w

Dan72w Member

I am still new to wet shaving (less than a month). Can anyone explain to me why a 1959 or near year Gillette Fatboy is such a popular razor? I've seen them mentioned on many shaving forums in passing. I see them going for a pretty penny on eBay. I was hoping for some more information regarding the specific razor in question as to why it's such a big hit or collector item. Any info would be awesome especially from those who have one. Thank you!

Specifics of what I am wondering:
    What would be a good price to pay for a functional one (regardless of looks if it can be restored)?

Can all razor blades work in such an old model or will vintage blades be required?

The adjustable aspect means exactly what?

2. CyanideMetal

CyanideMetal Wild and crazy guy

Dan,

Gillette produced the Fatboy for only 4 years ('58-'61) so that may contribute to its popularity and high selling prices. I personally think the FB has taken on a life of its own. It has a good solid heft to it and provides a very good shave. I own a 1961 (G1) FB and really enjoy it. Your choice of blade in the the FB will matter too.

An adjustable razor means that you can set its level of efficiency or aggressiveness. The higher you set the dial number, the more blade gap is exposed making a more aggressive shave.

All of today's blades will fit the FB. No special blades required.

What should you pay? That depends on how much you think it's worth. If you stay awake at night thinking of ways to alter your life and plot the death of others so you can get one, then maybe you'll pay considerably more than someone who could take it or leave it.

My advice: Learn how to identify one and tell it apart from it's brother the Slim and go to antique stores or estate sales and look around. With its current popularity, there's no telling what you will pay on eBay, but, in my opinion, it ain't worth it.