Best brush under $40

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Joelio, Apr 6, 2014.

1. Joelio

Joelio Well-Known Member

Okay folks: what, in your opinion, is the best brush you can buy for under $40? GO!

2. ironthinker

ironthinker Well-Known Member

I just love my Frank's silver tip from China I bought on Ebay for $27 including shipping. The $2.45-2.55 Horse Hair from BestShave.net a great way to add Horse Hair.

After much research, I am considering a Vulfix 404 Grosvenor Boar/Badger at $30.

It's great to have so many good choices.

3. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

Semogue or Omega

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  4. feeltheburn

feeltheburn Well-Known Member

Semogue Owner's Club is right about that. Arguably the best boar you can buy.

5. Chuck F

Chuck F Cheesy! Big Curd style

I'm no expert, but I like all the brushes I currently own, and none were over $40:

- Omega 10048, great big boar brush, goes for $10-15.

- Vintage Blades 2-band badger, probably my favorite brush, $35.

- Stirling Badger, currently on sale for $10, amazing deal.

- Vie Long Cachurro, horsehair, really nice handle, $20

I thought I had five brushes... which one am I forgetting?

6. Joelio

Joelio Well-Known Member

With this brush do you have to wood or plastic handle. I like the looks of the plastic but I don't want a cheap feeling plastic handle (I already have one of those with the VDH "premium" that I started WS with!)

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  7. gadabout

gadabout Well-Known Member

I only one one brush, a Vulfix 1000A. I think I paid $20 - $25. I have no idea if its the "best" brush, but it works just fine for me.

Troy M likes this.
  8. Mr. Shaverman

Mr. Shaverman Well-Known Member

I'm a fan of the Omega 49 Boar brush. You can probably find 4 of them for $40.

9. Chuck F

Chuck F Cheesy! Big Curd style

I have the plastic. It's pretty light and cheap. I'd recommend going with the wood.

10. WetShaveObsession

WetShaveObsession Well-Known Member