Blade Life: GEM/Personna, PTFE Coated, SE Razor Blade

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by SteveF, Aug 6, 2017.

1. SteveF

SteveF New Member

What is the normal / expected blade life for the: GEM/Personna, PTFE Coated, SE Razor Blade?

I recently started shaving with SE razors (I have been shaving for over 40 years with DE safety razors), and I am using GEM/Personna, PTFE coated, SE razor blades. I am still using the very first SE blade that I started shaving with in SE razors (I purchased a pack of 100 blades). . . I just had my 21st BBS shave with that blade today (today I shaved with an Ever-Ready, 1924 - "Shovel Head" razor). I have used that same blade shaving with the following razors (with most of the razors, I have shaved multiple times with the same blade in each different razor): 1912 Damaskeen, 1912 Ever-Ready (made in England), 1912 GEM, GEM Feather Weight, GEM Flat Top Heavy - FTH/G-Bar, MMOC, MMCP, MMBT, 1914 Ever-Ready, 1924 Ever-Ready - "Shovel Head."

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Different for every face.
    For me, 5 and toss. I have taken it 8.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  3. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself

I usually don't count how many shaves I've had. I just change them on the first sign of tugging.

4. RetLEO-07

RetLEO-07 likes his penguin deep fried, with pink sparkles

Six and bin for me!

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  5. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

I've got to be past 5 now on my current blade (I don't count shaves) but it's telling me it's time to move on.

6. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Which one is your favorite?

I know, it's like being asked which is your favorite kid.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  7. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

Wow... 21 shaves...

I wish I was able to get that from the OCMM. Most of the times, I notice the blade starting to degrade about shave 5. Once the shave doesn't last as long or gets tuggy, I pitch the blade.

8. SteveF

SteveF New Member