Blade Woes

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by DEfan, Jun 23, 2016.

1. DEfan

DEfan Member

I have been using Lord blades for a few years now and wanted to get peoples opinions on my experience. Generally, the first few shaves with a new blade will given me razor burn. After that, I can get quite a few shaves in - even BBS. I typically use a Fat boy on #4 or a EJ89. Does anyone else experience this? I hear that some people only get a few shaves out of their blades period.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Sounds like the blade smooths out after the first use. Try hand stropping the blade first. I hand strop before every shave, including that first one with a brand new blade.
    As for how many shaves per blade, some people are one and done, some will take a blade into double digit shaves.
    Only your face can tell you when the blade has gone one too many shaves and it is time for a new blade.

3. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

I've never used Lord blades, but the Astra SP's I use always seem better after the first shave. I don't get razor burn, but the first shave is not quite as good.

AGHisBBS and whiteboy_cannon like this.
  4. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

My experience was 3 nice shaves, then a fast drop-off. I use my Gillette adjustables @7. I found personas, ladas, and astras had a little more staying power.

gorgo2, AGHisBBS and whiteboy_cannon like this.
  5. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

Where, on your face, do you get razor burn. Could it be your using too much pressure? Or, too many passes on the neck? Hand stropping, or corking, is a good idea if a blade starts out rough.

macaronus likes this.
  6. DEfan

DEfan Member