cant get a smooth shave . could use some help?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by wingnut28, Mar 20, 2015.

1. wingnut28

wingnut28 New Member

I have been shaving with a double edge razor for 4 months . I am using a 34c razor and tried many different blades. But cant seem to get under my jaw line or neck smooth with out blood or razor burn . I bought a phenoix open comb razor last week . It feels i bit more aggressive than the merkur 34c . Deffently smooth on the cheeks with 2 passes but under the jaw and neck alot of irritation . The alum block let me know for sure. I have tried many creams and soaps . Right now using castle forbes lavender. but all i have tried have not helped with tender neck . Pretty sure i am doing something worng .

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

If you're trying for BBS on the jaw line and neck, you just may be one of the many that must settle for close enough. Some folks just can't push it or it tears their neck up.

Try the first pass WTG, then two passes in the shape of an X.

Herm2502 and GDCarrington like this.
  3. gwsmallwood

gwsmallwood Well-Known Member

I don't go ATG on my face very often. Maybe 4 or 5 times a year. Most of the time I do a single WTG pass with an aggressive razor and get DFS. You might try shimming the 34c. Maybe a little extra blade exposure will allow you to lighten up on the pressure. Helped my head shaves quite a bit with most of my razors.

Daytonkb likes this.
  4. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

that is s problem spot for many.
    is your prep good?
    are you maintaining the proper angle as you maneuver over this area?
    have you tried advanced techniques, ie buffing,j j hooking, or the slide?
    experiment with some of these things, I'm sure you'll figure it out.

5. BigMark

BigMark Tests razors by shaving Wookies