Curious About SE Razors

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by dustmite, Dec 23, 2016.

1. dustmite

dustmite Well-Known Member

I received a $10 non-rechargable gift e-card, and was searching for something to spend it on. Doing a search for razors on ebay showed quite a few results for Gem SE razors in the sub $10 range. I have zero experience with these, and the blade options for them, but it piqued my curiosity. So how about a "SE for Dummies" guide from people in the know? What blades and where to get them, which razors to go after and what to walk away from. Any help is much appreciated!

TobyC, Carbide Mike, Jim99 and 2 others like this.
  2. Karl G

Karl G Well-Known Member

Blades most often are GEMs which are very easy to find and buy. But, some SEs take proprietary blades that are not so easy to get. In some cases you can modify other blades to do this but not in all. So, if you post a pic of the razor or razors in question I am sure you'll get some answers to help out. Warning... Rabbit Hole ahead... :D

TobyC, Carbide Mike, Jim99 and 2 others like this.
  3. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

4. dustmite

Yeah, I figured! I'm completely open to suggestions on razors, all suggestions welcome. The ones I've been looking at are MicroMatic and 1912's, which are the only ones I remember hearing about before. And @swarden43, thanks for the link, I'll be sure to check it out!

5. TobyC

TobyC Well-Known Member

All GEM razors are good! GEM stainless blades only, don't get GEM Blue Star carbon steel blades!

Best all around SE is the 1912, If you want mild look at the Featherweight, if you want aggressive go for a MMOC. (Micromatic open comb) I really can't think of any that you should avoid!

Carbide Mike, Jim99, Karl G and 2 others like this.
  6. RyX

RyX DoH!

Subscribed! (Thanks for the link Steve @swarden43)