DE Blade Choice: Feather for 2 months. What now?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Bryan Miller, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Bryan Miller

Bryan Miller Active Member

Good evening,

I'm new to head / face wetshaving with 2 months under my belt. I have a WCS Everything Sampler but have been sticking with my Feathers until now.

I had a bad experience tonight with a 3 day old Feather that cut the crap out of my head. I went straight for the baddest of the DE razors... the most sharp, etc. I'm looking for something in the middle of the line, sharp and smooth. I've been hearing that Astra SP are nice. Here is a list of the tools at hand (I've also tested Merkur which I enjoyed):

• Merkur Super Platinum (10 blades)
    • Feather New Hi-Stainless Platinum (10 blades)
    • Crystal or "Israeli" (10 blades)
    • Derby Extra (5 blades)
    • Wilkinson Sword (5 blades)
    • Gillette 7 O'Clock SharpEdge (5 blades)
    • Astra Superior Platinum (5 blades)
    • BIC Chrome Platinum (5 blades)
    • DORCO Platinum ST-300 (10 blades)
    • DORCO Platinum ST-301 (10 blades)
    • Red Pack Israeli (5blades)
    • Lord Platinum (5 blades)
    • Sharp (5 blades)
    • Shark Super Chrome (5 blades)
    • Shark Super Stainless (5 blades)
    • Nacet Stainless (5 blades)
    • Super-Max Stainless (10 blades)

2. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

Oh! My vote would be to try Shark Super Chrome. I happened to grab a pack and they were instant favourites; even more so than Astra SP's that I loved so dearly.

3. CJames

CJames Well-Known Member

I still love Steve's advice when I asked the same question...

That being said, Astra SP's have been my go to so far!

178-bplatoon likes this.
  4. Bryan Miller

Only your head can tell you what works for you.

5. CJames

CJames Well-Known Member

Yeah...Guess in your case! Though...the way I'm losing hair...I may be next!

6. Bryan Miller