Did I buy the wrong razor??

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by pal251, May 11, 2008.

1. pal251

pal251 New Member

Hi everyone I am brand new to this double edge shaving...I used to use mach 3 or whatever was on sale at the time. I usually get very bad razor burn/ingrown hair and irritation when I shave so I decided to use a double edge to maybe fix it. I shave in the shower everytime I shave also. Well I bought a Merkur "Long Classic" Open-Comb but I wonder if I shouldn't have bought an open comb... What is an open comb for?

2. Will

Will Nevermind

Open comb means the safety bar is missing, some say it gets them a closer shave (and looks cool to boot).

You did fine, you can still learn on that razor. I personally do not suggest an open comb for a starter DE but it uses the same technique as a razor with a bar.

3. pal251

pal251 New Member

I keep hearing about a Gillette "new" where would I get one of those razors? ebay or what? I am in the process of trying to find a vintage razor that is not a copy...I also need to pick up some other blades besides the 10 pack of merkurs that I bought with the razor. I picked it up from classicshaving.com

4. Will

Will Nevermind

EBay it.

I also would suggest checking out a 1940's Gillette Super Speed and Gillette Adjustable.

Blades Sample Pack

West Coast Shaving
    Razor and Brush
    Suffolk Supplies

Happy Hunting (sniping) ;)

5. pal251

pal251 New Member

I just bidded on a gillette adjustable on ebay for $12.00 I dont know what the going price is on it.

I found a brush when I was cleaning my late grandmas house out what is made by "Fuller" and on the other side of it is some more writing but I cant read it. I'll check out the gillette speed razor also. For as cheap as they are it doesn't hurt to try the other ones.

6. NoobShaver

NoobShaver BGDAAA