DIY bowl

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by William232, May 6, 2014.

1. William232

William232 Active Member

Can't decide exactly what I want. Bowl, mug, scuttle... I started thinking I might like one that was a unique one of a kind that I created with my own hands. I'm not interested in pottery enough to take up the hobby but would it be strange if I took a pottery class and learned how to make a bowl, and paint it, and cook it in the kiln, just for one bowl? Just for the satisfaction of knowing that I created that.

2. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

Not at all. I have no clay experience, but I have taken and taught work-shop classes on glass fusing.

Most teach the fundamentals and make a project. But it would have to be more than a day to learn to throw clay, plus drying times and firing etc... You could look at ceramics where you glaze and fire a piece all in one session.

If this is too much, just go to a thrift shop and spend less than a buck on a vintage mug and be done with it.

178-bplatoon and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  3. lilbones99

lilbones99 Member

My father in law does wood turning, I've been thinking of having him teach me to turn a bowl to use for lathering too. And if if goes well, perhaps even some for holding soaps too. :cool:

Slow Joe likes this.
  4. Rod Richeson

Rod Richeson New Member

Our local ceramics place has various objects you paint and they fire. They create the unfinished piece and you pay for that plus the firing. Maybe you could commission something if they didn't have a piece you liked

Rod

5. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

I think it would be really cool to make your own. When you do either make or buy please share.

6. Slow Joe

Slow Joe Relishing his obsession

I think it could be a good idea, if you enjoy pottery you might make more things , if not,you still have the bowl you made yourself.:)

7. Sara-s

Sara-s This Pun for Hire