Expensive isn't always better!

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by JBMAN1974, Aug 22, 2017.

1. JBMAN1974

JBMAN1974 Member

I've been using Tallow and Steel's West Indies soap for the past couple weeks and it's one the best soaps I've used. I've been using NOS AOS soaps and Valobra for the past 4 years. When it comes to working up a good lather however, I actually get better results using a cheap AOS travel brush. I have an M&F brush that costs an arm and a leg. The brush is so dense that it actually eats into the lather that's already on my face. I must be doing something wrong. Of course it feels nicer, but the AOS actually does a better job. I don't get it.

IMAG0436.jpg IMAG0437.jpg

2. Primotenore

Primotenore missed opera tunity

Article Team
    It's difficult to imagine that after 4 years you are doing "anything wrong" Perhaps you could try more paintbrush strokes. The denser M&F brush will trap significantly more lather. Try a small squeeze at the bottom of the knot to encourage some release of your lather. Again, light paintbrush strokes to finish.

3. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
  4. Keithmax

Keithmax Breeds Pet Rocks

I have the same problem with very dense knots.

5. poppi

poppi Well-Known Member

And that's why I don't care for dense knots. Everyone I've had has been a lather hog. And since I like to splay the brush a bit, the denser a brush is the harder it is to do that.

I've pretty much gone to synthetics with a preference for the Plisson style.

Eeyore and jmudrick like this.
  6. gwsmallwood

gwsmallwood Well-Known Member

Does...not...compute...

battle.munky and Bobcat like this.
  7. JBMAN1974

JBMAN1974 Member

It doesn't compute does it, but the brush is so dense; it's really hard to work up a lather. For creams, it lathers up like crazy. Soaps are a another story. Don't get me wrong, it still works. Just not like the brush I that I had sitting in my closet. I almost threw it away.

8. gwsmallwood