Feather AS-D1 Opinions

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Neolithium, Jun 2, 2012.

1. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

Heya All,
    So my RAD has been kicking in lately, and I've been hunting through the gold versions of both Merkur and Edwin Jagger to see if I may want to get one of those - however considering what I do for a living I don't want to be having that plating subjected to the environment I usually put my razors in. So I came up with the ultra-expensive idea of possibly getting a Feather AS-D1.

I do realize that the angle required is different than most razors but barring that one tidbit I had a couple of quick questions in regards to it, since I'll be deciding and pulling the trigger in the next couple of weeks.

1 - Most if not all reviews basically say if you don't use Feather blades, you're hooped for getting a good shave. Has anyone tried them with Personnas, Gillettes or Voskhods successfully?

2 - WAY too cheap to go for the TAS-DS so does the iKon stand work well for this handle?

Thanks for any input, I'd love to just find this out all myself but it's a wee bit expensive for a purchase on the fly ;)

2. Slipperyjoe

Slipperyjoe Rusty Metal Tetanus