Feather SE blades--the first shave.

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by JimR, Oct 14, 2008.

1. JimR

JimR Active Member

(I just put this up at SMF, thought you guys might be interested too.)

Hi guys. As you know, I helped Pauldog out in getting some Feather SE blades. He very generously sent me a GEM Contour II and a spine to try out the blades (Thanks for that Paul!). After some dangerous fiddling with the spine, I was able to get the blade loaded into the razor. It fit perfectly, with no wiggle, so I assume that other razors that take a spined SE blade should have no problems.

I tried the combo out this morning for the first time. I did my normal shave routine--hot shower, MWF preshave (i use a bit of the MWF on my fingers to soap up and let it sit before I lather up) and then a three pass, WTG, XTG XTG.

Please keep in mind, I have only been wetshaving for less than a month, and I have NEVER used an SE before. This is my first experience, and of course YMMV. I will update with further results.

My very first reaction was surprise. I'll admit, I was a bit nervous about trying this blade. I just finished four shaves using a Feather DE and it wasn't pleasant, with lots of nicks and mild razor burn. From the very beginning, though, this shave felt different. I could feel the sharpness but somehow, the thickness and stiffness of the blade toned it down. It could be that the razor is very mild, much milder than my Tech.

The first pass was not as close as a Feather DE pass, but very, very comfortable. There was a lot of audio feedback but very little tactile--I could hear the cutting (maybe because of the plastic Contour II?) but not feel any tugging, skipping, or anything. It took a bit to arrange the angle right, but once I did everything went ok. After my third pass, my face was BBS except for the jawline. There had been no irritation, so I went for a rare, and usually deadly, ATG pass on my jawline.