First Shave - 1959 Fat Boy

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by tylerSC, Sep 19, 2013.

1. tylerSC

tylerSC Member

This is an E2-coded Fat Boy from 1959. It is the only safety razor I've tried besides by Edwin Jagger De89bl.

I really had no intention of buying a "new" razor so soon, but I got to looking around on eBay, one thing led to another, and before you know it, a package arrived at my door.

First of all, purely as an industrial artifact, this is an interesting machine. It is remarkably well-preserved, and was clearly not made "on the cheap." It was built to last. Having said that, it's not perfect - it looks like one end of the blade's edge is a little closer to the guard than the other. I'm not an expert, but I would grade it probably at 7-8 out of 10. A couple of the setting numbers have lost part of their paint, and it looks like it was used for a short period. Otherwise it's remarkably new-looking, and the mechanism is tight.

After soaking it in alcohol for a while, I put in a Feather blade and fired her up - great shave! The razor fits my hand well, and the cutting angle seemed natural. I started on setting "3," and ended up on "5". I love the grip security of the knurled steel, and the razor has a nice heft to it.

Overall, very happy with this purchase. It is a true, interesting antique, and it functions very well. Not bad for something that costs less than $100.00. fat boy 1.JPG Fat Boy 2.jpg Fat Boy 3.jpg

2. 178-bplatoon

178-bplatoon Well-Known Member

My second razor was a Gillette "FatBoy" also, it was an E3 I got it to commemorate my Fathers death,I was only 4 when he died so never knew him or what kind of razor he used....FatBoy's are "WONDERFUL" razors,probably my favorite adjustable..If I hadn't become a 3 piece man I'm sure I'd still be using my FatBoy...