First Time SE

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by true01, Apr 29, 2011.

1. true01

true01 Member

Well last night I finally got to try my GEM Micromatic OC and all I can say is WOW best shave of my life Ive been usuing DE's for a couple months now and even ventured into straights about a month ago but man o man what a shave...Might have to unload some of my DE's so i can acquire some more SE's(not getting rid of any straights) anyways just thought I'd share my new found happiness,,,,

2. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

Good to know it worked out good for you. I never liked the one I had, but the Star 1912 and Gem Featherweight did work good for me.

3. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

:happy088:happy088

Ain't it great? :D

4. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

Woo hoo! Congrats!

5. Dridecker

Dridecker Sherlock

Good news is you may not have to sell off your D/E's, most S/E razors are unappreciated, and can usually be found cheaper than D/E's.

Now notice I said most, some of the old lather catchers will bring in a premium.

<just wanted to get that in there before Steve made me look foolish... er.>

6. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

very true... you can get micromatics, push buttons, 1912s, and g-bars fairly cheap. A 1912 deluxe or lather catcher gets much pricier.

7. Alucard

Alucard New Member

The ER Streamline is my current favorite.
    [​IMG]

8. NoobShaver

NoobShaver BGDAAA

I'm impressed that you got a good shave from an o.c. micromatic on the first try!

SEs are great- although the o.c. micromatic is in a club all by itself.

9. DLreno

DLreno Well-Known Member

My Gem Push Button is the best shaver in my den. All my DE's are minor league in comparison.

10. Mr. Flay

Mr. Flay New Member