For those that use both Fatboy and Slim?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Bowler Mike, Aug 5, 2015.

1. Bowler Mike

Bowler Mike Well-Known Member

I just recently won a Fatboy on Ebay and have three shaves so far. I have used the same settings and blade as my Slim, on 6 with a Voskhod. I found the shave to be a lot smoother. I get great shaves from my Slim but I usually get a little Alum feed back most times. With this Fatboy I'm getting zero alum feed back. I tried silver blue blade and went to 7 definitely felt more aggressive same great result.

When comparing these two razors the blade gap looks a little smaller on the Fatboy than the Slim on the same numbers. Is this normal when comparing these two?
    I was wondering if others have a similar experience with these two razors and how they shave?

Thanks

2. Paulthebaker

Paulthebaker Active Member

It's funny that you bring this topic up right now. I have been shaving with a aristocrat slim for about three months now and love it. I acquired a fat boy this weekend, 10 bucks! After some cleaning I've had three shaves with it and Love it. My slim did not get along well with the lab blue blades. But I find I can go to a higher number on the fat boy with the lab blue's and get a smoother one pass shave. It is a little shorter, but it just feels nice in my hand. I actually got another slim this weekend but may trade it off.

3. Norcalnewb

Norcalnewb Magnanimous Moos

I didn't compare the blade gap between the two, but once I got the FB down, I got better shaves with it than the Slim. I ended up selling the Slim as I figured I wouldn't use it as much.

4. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

I've had several BBS, never fail to geat at least a darn fine shave, from both the Fatboy and Slim on 6 loaded with an Astra SP.

5. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

I can't tell much difference.

IDuck likes this.
  6. swarden43

Same here.

IDuck likes this.