Gillette Fat Boy First Shave

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by dryheat, Jun 24, 2014.

1. dryheat

dryheat New Member

I'm a newbie on here, and to wet shaving in general. I have been using the Micro Touch from Walgreens (the $19 package with the chrome stand and Dorco blades) and have been wanting to get a "real" vintage razor for about the entire month that I've had this razor. My Fat Boy showed up last night, and after several hours of barbicide, Barkeepers Friend, Dawn and a soft toothbrush, and Maas polish, I loaded a Gillette Blue Silver blade into it this morning, and had the best wet shave of my life. I realize that this is not a great accomplishment since I only have the one other razor to compare with, but I was getting pretty close shaves, and even my neck was smooth for most of the day with the Micro Touch.The Fat Boy was a treat, much better feeling in the hand, and much better feeling on my face. I set it at 3, as I read on here to be the best starting setting for an adjustable, and loved it. My job requires a clean shaven face every day, and it has been a hassle in the past, and an expensive hassle at that, with Schick Hydro cartridge blades being my favorite of the throw away type. I have become fascinated with the whole wet shaving ritual and look forward to shaving every morning (this was with the Micro Touch) and now I am really hooked. I have a couple Tech's and a Blue Tip coming, but I don't have them yet and after the shave with the Fat Boy, I think I will get more familiar with this one, and eventually change to a more aggressive setting to give that a try before moving on to the other razors, as I want to learn which is the best for me and I think several (many) days with this one are in order before I move to the next one. I look forward to tomorrow morning when I can use the Gillette again.

2. Bobcat

Bobcat Well-Known Member

Congrats! It will just get better.............

Bob

3. ObiDon

ObiDon member in questionable standing