Has anybody got the SV strop ?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Olie29, Dec 16, 2017.

1. Olie29

Olie29 Well-Known Member

has anybody got the SV strop and if so what are you opinions on it. Also if anybody has any suggestions on what high quality strops are available please feel free to chime in
    Thanks

Keithmax and Billyfergie like this.
  2. Spyder

Spyder Well-Known Member

Please forgive my ignorance, but what is an “SV strop”?
    I’m also interested in hearing any recommendations on high end strops.

Billyfergie, DaltonGang and Olie29 like this.
  3. Olie29

Olie29 Well-Known Member

@Spyder Saponificio Varesino I don’t think they a massively expensive, I like the brush I have from them but it’s like with anything I suppose you can’t be good at everything...they do look like decent quality leather but I have zero experience in this field

Billyfergie and Spyder like this.
  4. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

I thought they just made soaps. Any pics, or links?

Billyfergie, Spyder and Olie29 like this.
  5. Olie29

Olie29 Well-Known Member

Billyfergie, Spyder and DaltonGang like this.
  6. DaltonGang

Billyfergie, Spyder and Olie29 like this.
  7. Olie29

Olie29 Well-Known Member

I agree it’s purely for aesthetic reasons I would pay more but having said that sometimes you pay more for something and the quality is worse than an inexpensive version, so I just wondered if anyone had any experience with them

Billyfergie, DaltonGang and Spyder like this.
  8. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

I would say that if it flips your minnow, go for it. I would just personally make sure I had explored all my options before I bought something that high end. Lots of options out there for nice strops.

9. Spyder

Spyder Well-Known Member