Hello from Iowa!

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Opie, Feb 4, 2017.

1. Opie

Opie Member

Hey everyone! I started lurking today, found lots of good info, and decided to join up. There are lots of things I am looking forward to learning.

I found the place when searching for advice on how many shaves I should expect from a DE razor, but I think due to the sensitivity of my skin, I'm going to limit my shaves to fewer than I could probably get otherwise.

A little about me:
    • I'm a lawyer by training, but I work for a human resources outsourcing firm. I usually don't actually practice law (even though I maintain my license).
    • I live in Iowa, and I love it fanatically. I lived in Florida for seven years, and I hated it.
    • I love what you might call "old timey" things, and I think a lot of the old techniques are better than the new-fangled stuff. Not always though. Technology is a good thing sometimes.
    • I decided to try a safety razor when an acquaintance mentioned that it was the only thing that gave him a comfortable shave. I have liked what I have had so far, and I can't wait to try some better blades.
    That's enough for now. I'm looking forward to getting into some real threads.

2. RetLEO-07

RetLEO-07 likes his penguin deep fried, with pink sparkles

Welcome to the Den @Opie! As you have probably gathered there is a lot of info out here. I'll ask the obligatory question: What gear are you using? We've got a very strong SR community here. That's about as "old timey" as you can get. But we've also got DE, SE and carts. Of course since you've been lurking you know this. Glad you decided to step on in. So pull up a seat grab a beverage and dive in. Enjoy your shaves!

RyX and Opie like this.
  3. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Hi! Glad you're here!!

Opie likes this.
  4. Opie

Opie Member

Thanks for the welcome!