Hello from Quebec Canada !!

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Steve G, Jan 7, 2018.

1. Steve G

Steve G Active Member

Hello everyone,

I am a French Canadian living in Quebec, Canada and I am new to wet shaving!

I have been shaving with an electric razor for the past 30 years or so (I am 49). I tried shaving with plastic razors when I was in my late teens / early 20s but did not have any success. It was like watching the Texas Chainsaw Massacre movie in my mirror. ;)

During the holiday season, I saw a couple of Youtube videos on wet shaving with a DE blade and it piqued my interest. So I decided to try it out.

Here is what I have currently :
    • Q-shave razor - Merkur Futur clone
    • Rockwell synthetic shaving brush
    • Les Industries Groom Shaving soap and Aftershave balm
    • A bowl :)
    Even though my technique is not up to par (lots of nicks and cuts and razor burns), I absolutely enjoy the feeling of wet shaving.

2. Paul Turner

Paul Turner outside the quote(s) now

Good to have you here, Steve :)

9nein9, Steve G, AGHisBBS and 2 others like this.
  3. NCoxSTL

NCoxSTL AAACK!

Welcome aboard! You've found the friendliest and most knowledgeable bunch of shaving fanatics on the web! You'll find that with a little time and practice the blood goes away and the best shaves you've ever had will be normal. Feel free to check out the 30 Day Rule thread where we talk about technique and love to help the new guys figure things out. The link is below if you're interested. Great to have you along for the ride!

4. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Hi! Welcome to the Den!
    Just curious, what do you have your razor adjusted to?
    I have a Futur and have set just a bit under 3.
    If this is new to you, I would recommend setting somewhere between 1.5 and 2.

9nein9, Steve G and RyX like this.
  5. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor