Help selecting a safety razor.

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Rusty blade, May 27, 2015.

1. Rusty blade

Rusty blade The Good Humor Man

I am new to the terminology of DE safety razors and I am a bit lost on the names of the different styles. I recently found a Gillette Travel tech in a thrift store. I really like the style of the Travel Tech….you unscrew the handle, remove the plate and insert the blade, screw the handle back in and Bob's your uncle. What is this style of razor called? I would like to purchase a newer version of the Travel Tech style of safety razor with a full size handle. Any suggestions?

Also, how is this style different from the butterfly style? Is one better than the other?

Mr. Shaverman likes this.
  2. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
    That would be a three piece razor. The Edwin Jagger DE89 would be a good start.

BigMark, wristwatchb and PatrickA51 like this.
  3. Jayaruh

Supporting Vendor
    Butterfly razors are considered one piece razors even though they have many parts.

Is one better than the other? Yes. The one you like best.

wristwatchb and PatrickA51 like this.
  4. Rusty blade

Thanks Jim...that is helpful...next question: what is the difference between closed comb and open comb with DE razors?

PatrickA51 likes this.
  5. Jayaruh

Supporting Vendor
    Gillette NEW is an open comb. It has teeth. new_replate2.jpg
    Gillette Fat Handle Tech is closed comb. It has a smooth safety bar.
    fht13.png

spacehobo, wristwatchb and PatrickA51 like this.
  6. Jayaruh

Supporting Vendor
  7. Rusty blade

I checked the threads you suggested, but it still doesn't answer my basic question: how are they different in terms of shaving? Are open comb razors more "aggressive" and the closed comb razors less so?

8. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member

:signs011:

Jim has said it all. If you follow his advise you can't go wrong. :happy088:

9. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member