How does the 1950's Mircormatic shave?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by brumble, Mar 26, 2009.

1. brumble

brumble New Member

May be getting what I think is a 1950's bullet tipped Micromatic. I've never used a SE and so I'm wondering what type of shaver this is? I know YMMV, but thoughts/opinions from anyone with experience using this razor are appreciated. Thanks.

2. NoobShaver

NoobShaver BGDAAA

I'm new to SE shaving myself, but I do have a micromatic and I can give you a partial answer.

I've got an open comb micromatic. It's more aggressive than your bullet tip. I also have a featherweight SE (a GEM with a plastic handle). I find that the head on my micromatic requires a funny shave angle. Flatter than shaving with a DE but higher than shaving with the featherweight. I think all micromatics share the funny head shape, but I could be wrong.

In any case, go easy on your first shave. Go slow and pay attention. I get awesome shaves from SE razors- better than any shave I ever had with a DE.

3. D.irving79

D.irving79 Gemocrat

get a 1912.

4. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

I agree with Dave. A 1912 shaves much better than a micromatic. I have a few and I just don't care to use them. You can get a good shave out of them, but they give more irritation and are more work than a 1912/1914/1924 Gem/Ever-Ready.

5. brumble

brumble New Member

Thanks for the feedback. Seems clear that the 1912 is a better shaver than the Micromatic.

My question is really whether to even bother trying to shave with the Micromatic or to should I simply consider it a collector piece?