How long do blades usually last?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Inverted, Jun 6, 2014.

1. Inverted

Inverted Member

Sorry, I know this has to be a common question and I searched with no results. How often are you guys throwing blades away?

2. dsharp

dsharp New Member

I was just commenting on this in the Razor section. I'm a newbie and went 5 days with a Dorco and 4 with a Derby blade, but my Wilkinson hurt today on only day 3 with it. It may have been a bad blade, but if it wasn't an outlier then maybe Wilkinson just isn't the blade for me.

They are so cheap I'd be happy with 3 days in any case. I think by the third day any blade would be notably lesser than days 1 and 2. Perhaps a super sharp blade would mean improved comfort by that time, but I haven't tried those super sharps yet to know.

3. Inverted

Inverted Member

How many passes do you do per shave?

4. BigMark

BigMark Tests razors by shaving Wookies

I try to get at least 4 per blade. I actually rinse my razors head in Alcohol. Maybe I am cheap.

5. Mr. Shaverman

Mr. Shaverman Well-Known Member

The answer is totally YMMV, and depends upon the blade and your face. For me, A blade gets used 3 times and tossed. If it cuts or nicks me before then, it gets tossed. I do 3 passes, with a touch up.

Blades are cheap, so I buy what I know works (but still experiment with unknowns) and toss them while they still give me a nice shave. Some guys hang onto them like they're the last blades in the fallout shelter, and the commies are banging on the door. Which is cool, because it works for them.

6. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

That sounds about right when using 'milder' DE razors, but with the hyper-aggressive ones, I try not to push my luck beyond 2…maybe 3.
    No blade shortage here (I have too many!) and since I only use a DE razor maybe 2x a week, I don't hesitate to use a 'fresh' blade often.

Radiotube and GDCarrington like this.
  7. BigMark