Just had a really bad shave :(

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Edward89, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Edward89

Edward89 New Member

I'm new to traditional wet shaving- I've probably shaved between 7-10 times with a DE razor- but just now I had a terribly bad shave. I really rather tried to have a good pre shave clean using soap, lots of water and warm towels on my face, I tried to get a nice creamy lather and I tried to apply no pressure when shaving. However, I couldn't finish my shave as I could feel I was going to get really bad razor burn and I did, along with some of those red shave spots (although some Witch Hazel and moisturiser has helped soothe it).

I did two, almost three, passes and I noticed on each pass, and I've get this almost every time I shave, I get awfully bad drag when I move the razor. This leads to me think my problem must be my technique, I shouldn't be getting any drag, correct? Should I move the razor faster; people that I've seen shaving with DE on youtube seem to shave awfully quick, I go a lot slower. Perhaps I should get a different razor? Although, I doubt it would solve much. A long with the drag, I also noticed that my stubble seem awfully hard, which I think must cause the drag; maybe my pre shave routine isn't good enough and I need to spend more time soften the stubble.

Now, I had a really good shave on Monday, almost BBS, but again I got terrible razor burn on the central part of my neck. Maybe I was a bit too eager to shave again today (Wednesday) and I didn't give my neck enough time to heal. Indeed, the minute I applied the lather to my face it started to tingle.

It's all rather frustrating. I think I'm going to take a break from shaving for a week or so- to let let my neck heal properly- and then come back and try again. I may also try a gentler soap, given that my face began to tingle when I applied the lather.

Any tips or advice would be welcomed, as I'm determined to get the knack of this wet shaving business.