Just had my first safety razor shave, thoughts:

Discussion in 'General Shaving Talk' started by McCrae, Apr 2, 2018.

1. McCrae

McCrae Well-Known Member

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the whole wet shaving game, I've been using Gillette cartridge razors ever since I started shaving 5 years back. I've maybe only had a handful of "good" shaves with those and was always left with irritation and razor burn. Also, my hair is pretty thick and the cart razors never did a good job of giving a smooth shave. After doing some research I decided that safety razors are the way to go and I've just now experienced my first safety razor shave. (Edwin Jagger DE89, Semogue 830 brush, Mitchells Wool Fat soap).

This first experience is definitely a learning lesson, I took a hot shower before making sure to wash my face and open up the pores, and I've soaked the brush in some warm water as well as the soap while showering. The soap is a bit tough to lather (realized this when reading reviews earlier today), but I manged to get what I assume to be a good lather (lathering up on my face as opposed to a bowl), although never making one before. I did two passes WTG, since I missed some spots on my first pass, and a third pass across the grain. I'm still getting the hang of holding the razor at an angle and not using any pressure, sometimes I'll go over a tricky spot and not remove any hair because I wasn't holding it at the proper angle. The shave came out alright, I don't have any cuts (a first) and just a mild burning sensation which I assume to be from shaving this way for the first time. I've also made the mistake of not shaving for a week (my hair grows pretty fast) and I have some spots that I missed, but I'll try again in two days which I believe would make it easier to shave.

Questions:
    Is there a way to keep the lather warm between passes? I find after the first pass it's already cool, which is not a big deal but would be nice if it was warmer.