Lather dries out a bit too fast

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Omelmad, Jan 30, 2014.

1. Omelmad

Omelmad My printer email address is..........

Hi

I think the headline says everything. I am new to the site so bare with me if this has been discussed before.

First off I wanna say that I'm new to wetshaving. Started out using the gillette fusion then I came upon a video on youtube that shows Safety razor shaving and Straight razor shaving, I knew instantaneously that it is something for me, because it gives the closest shave when mastered.

Now I'm only a student so I did not acquire a 1000+ SEK (Approximately 200 dollars) worth of straight razor, no I bought a parker shavette with derby blades. I know there is a long learning curve, and I might take my time while shaving with my shavette, BUT my problem is that my lather dries out a bit to fast, even on the days I'm lazy or in a hurry and only use my gillette fusion. Sometimes I don't get 1 full pass without having to lather some parts of my face again, usually mustache and chin area.

I ONLY have 2 soaps at the moment, Palmolive stick and L'occitane shaving soap and bowl. I have to control myself so I don't buy to many soaps at once. The lather i whip out with both these soaps dries out, and Im sure that I'm doing something wrong.

Can anyone give me some pointers or link another thread that explains various reasons why the lather might dry out to fast?

2. michael54

michael54 Well-Known Member

How much water are you using? More water more product. If using the palmolive stick soak the tip In water while you shower. Rub on your face until you see a haze then hit with your wet brush. If using the soap put some warm water on top of puck while you shower
    What kind of brush are you using?

Omelmad and CyanideMetal like this.
  3. CyanideMetal

CyanideMetal Wild and crazy guy