Making my own after shave.

Discussion in 'Soapmaking & Lotions' started by Kraken98, Feb 25, 2018.

1. Kraken98

Kraken98 Well-Known Member

Okay so I am far from a chemist or expert at this sort of thing and this is my first attempt at anything like it. That being said I was browsing the soapmaking and lotions topic this morning and noticed a thread by @HollyRollah called "Making Homemade Bay Rum" ( http://theshaveden.com/forums/threads/making-homemade-bay-rum.34274/ ) I would totally suggest reading that before this as it was incredibly interesting. This thread made me want to make my own Aftershave. Now I've done several things different in my concoction the first being the liquors I used. Instead of rum I used Evan Williams for several reasons the main being the only rum in what is an extensive liquor cabinet is Sailor Jerry's and let's be honest that would be a waste. And my choice of vodka was Beauregard Dixie (distilled right here in South Carolina)

Now with my choices of alcohol out of the way my next step was a trip to the grocery store to pick up the needed witch hazel and scent addatives. Upon getting there I did not find witch hazel with aloe so I picked up a bottle of that aswell. The rest of the list is as follows: Ginger(small knob as I don't want it to overpower the Aftershave) Jar of whole cloves, Peppercorn, jar of dried Valencia orange peel, rosemary(I already had dried leaves, and the store had no fresh on the stem so I made do with what I had.)

Now I added in rough ratios by eye on all except the liquids so I can't tell exacts but I can give rough estimates on how much of the herbs I put.
    I started with the liquids mixing
    4 Oz witch hazel
    4 Oz Evan Williams
    3 Oz Dixie vodka
    2 tablespoons aloe gell

Next came the dries and I added these as I liked the scents more of one or the other.
    1 1/2 tablespoon rosemary
    full (but small) knob of ginger sliced not diced (about 2 tablespoons ish)