" Merkur Progress Adjustable Safety Razor "

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by rgarr, Dec 20, 2007.

1. rgarr

rgarr Senior moments member

I'm a newbie to these forums and I'm ready to buy my first DE razor and I've heard and seen through a video that it is a pretty good razor and it is in my price range.

I would appreciate any and all recommendations that you might give me concerning this razor or others that might be best for someone who has sensitive skin and is prone to nicks and cuts.

Also, which blades would be best for me e.g. Merkur...Featherlite etc. And approximately how many shaves can I expect out of one blade?

I realize that on the razor and blades it depends on the user's dexterity but for someone new like myself there must be some razors and blades that are better or safer than others as far as nicks and cuts. Thank You all!

2. mastermute

mastermute FatBoy

DE:s for beginners was recently discussed here.

I would recomend a [vintage] Gillette FatBoy anyday! My favourite razor! Perfect weight, easy to handle! In todays auctions on ebay, a FatBoy in good condition would set you back USD $30 to $50, a good investment! As I saw in one auction, it will increase in value as you use it! Use it a lifetime and it will still rise in value!

Another option is a Gillette SuperSpeed, a very good razor too. I have a "redtip" that I also like a lot, cost me about USD $20 on ebay. Good wieght, very gentle (I guess it's very forgiving and would suit someone that is prone for cuts and rashes very well).

I'm quite new to the "diversity" of DE, but I like Feather and IP blades. I use them for three-ish shaves, you can probably use them even more.. or less, I have read about people that only use their blades once.

3. Issy

Issy TheMadSoaper

I have a Merkur progressive in my collection and like it quite alot. As far as blades I would suggest you try a sample pack and see what your face likes.

Issy

4. rgarr

Thanks Issy;59942,