More on boars (Boar Wars)

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by oscar11, Apr 10, 2018.

1. oscar11

oscar11 Well-Known Member

I thought there might be some interest on this subject on the board, so here goes. I would like to say everything you read from this point on is just my opinion. I'm not willing to argue about anything, I'll just call'em as I see'em. I'm not an expert but I know what I like on my face. We know what George Bernard Shaw said about generalities so that's where I'll start. Generally speaking I feel most boar brushes are over lofted from the factory.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    From left to right -
    1. Antica Barbieria Colla - I ordered from a US firm but the brush was drop shipped from Sweden. Nicely
    sculpted knot with fine looking bristle. This brush came in at 60mm by a hair under 28mm,measured. I
    don't care what the specs say. It is what it is.
    2. Thater boar - again a beautiful sculpted knot, bulb style. The measurement on this brush are a hair under
    60 mm (a plus as far as I'm concerned) by 26mm. I'm disappointed in this brush. For the price I don't
    expect a glue line around the knot weeping into the bristles. It really won't bother anything and I can
    probably remove it. I wouldn't expect this on a $10 boar much less one for this price. Other than that it's
    a beautiful brush. Brushes 1 & 2 cost more than my most expensive Shavemac knot. Neither brush has seen
    water yet but I'll soak the ABC today for tomorrows shave. Very fine bristle on this brush also. If your a
    Thater fan and consider this a dig, to bad. It is what it is, I guess they shouldn't have sent the brush out.
    3. Mondial - originally sculpted nicely with fine bristle, 25 x 60mm. This one comes in very close to the Thater
    dimension wise. I've used this one a few times and it's different than what I'm use to. I'd consider it a little