My first safety razor kit

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by FancyRamen, Aug 11, 2015.

1. FancyRamen

FancyRamen Active Member

I'm looking for a nice starter kit to include a razor, bowl and brush. I'm very new to the safety razor world, so take it easy on me and my wallet.

Thanks in advance!

Jayaruh likes this.
  2. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave

Now as to a good starter kit (ENTRY LEVEL COST), here are some (not all) products to look at:

Razor:
    New: Edwin Jagger EJ89, Muhle R89, Matador (Razor Blades and More)
    Vintage: Gillette Super Speed, Schick Krona (can be found on e-Bay sites, antique stores)

Brush (3 major groups):
    Badger: Omega #621 or Edwin Jagger - 281K61
    Boar: Omega #10065 Boar, Omega #10049 "Colors" Boar aka The PRO 49
    Synthetic: Kent Infinity Silvertex, Napa Soap Black Fiber (Mühle Knot)
    Mühle K Series from Connaught Shaving (best pricing on Mühle items)

Blades: Blade Sampler (TSD, or the vendors listed below)

Here are some good vendors to look for items at:
    http://www.connaughtshaving.com/
    http://www.shoeboxshaveshop.com/index.html
    http://www.razorbladesandmore.com/
    http://www.maggardrazors.com/

3. mikewood

mikewood Well-Known Member

First of allWelcome to the board.

There will be a lot of great guys with good
    Ideas. Here are mine.
    Razor DE89 get one with a knurled handle. Not a smooth handle.
    Blade. Buy an assortment from one of the major retailers. Magards etc.
    Soap, buy a puck of sandalwood or barbershop from Stirling soap or strop shoppe.
    Brush. Buy a 22-24mm silver tip badger brush from whipped dog.
    Shaving bowl. Honestly, consider a cereal bowl from the kitchen or better yet a large soup "mug". Save your money here.

Ed to say don't get a kit. It's a compromise and it's better to spend a but more and get good stuff

4. Medicdad417

Medicdad417 Well-Known Member