My Gillette Tech T1 is more aggressive than my Merkur 23C?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Mike Williams, Sep 4, 2017.

1. Mike Williams

Mike Williams New Member

I'm new at this, and this surprises me. I thought it would be just the opposite.
    I'm using Gillette 7:00 o'clock Super Stainless blades.
    Does this sound right to you guys?
    Thank you.

2. jar

jar Well-Known Member

I've never quite understood how aggressiveness is measured. I can understand efficiency, and effectiveness but have no idea what aggressive means.

I find my Gillette Techs are as efficient as my Merkur 23C. By that I mean I can get the same quality shave with the same effort with either razor.

3. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man

Aggressiveness, being a function primarily of blade gap and exposure, is experienced as a razor that can easily bite when proper angle and/or pressure is not maintained. A very mild razor simply won't cut (or won't cut effectively) at an angle where an aggressive razor will bite, and its positive exposure, if any, is limited so that a little extra pressure won't hurt you. A mild razor can be very efficient but only when proper angle is maintained.

I know nothing about the 23C but the Tech is certainly a mild but efficient razor.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Last edited: Sep 4, 2017
    Terry Williams likes this.
  4. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

It is amazing what happens when you stop listening to what others say and test things out for yourself.

I avoided the tech for years as it was said to be too mild etc, but when I picked one up and used it for a while I got great shaves with it.

Practice your technique and you will get good shaves from anything you choose to use.

5. Engblom

Engblom Well-Known Member

Tech is often compared with DE89.