New guy - need help identifying a DE

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Bootflap, Aug 7, 2014.

1. Bootflap

Bootflap New Member

Hey guys,

It's really nice to sign up and post here. I've been lurking for a couple weeks now, as I've been bitten by the wetshaving bug. I've been shaving with canned gel and using cartridges since I was in high school but I recently uncovered my great grandfather's DE safety razor and it sparked an interest in me. I've been using it along with the Van Der Hagen set you can pick up at Walmart and I'm totally into it.

Since I'm completely new to this world, though, I'm having a little trouble confirming just exactly what kind of model this Gillette is. There's no date or anything anywhere on it, or the case. Through my own research I think I can pinpoint it to maybe a 1948 - 1950 Gillette Superspeed but I'm not 100%. If anyone can help I'd appreciate it, and it's great to be here!
    IMG245.jpg IMG246.jpg IMG247.jpg IMG248.jpg IMG249.jpg

2. Mr. Shaverman

Mr. Shaverman Well-Known Member

Welcome! No idea what that razor is.

3. Slipperyjoe

Slipperyjoe Rusty Metal Tetanus

Kinda looks like a 50's flair tip super speed...

4. Luteplayers

Luteplayers Well-Known Member

It is a flair tip super speed. It should have a letter and number on the underside of the head Z=1954 (1st year), A=1955, B=1956 etc, the number 1, 2, 3, or4 denotes the quarter of the year it was made.

Hard to tell from the pictures but it could be an English version known as a rocket. If so it would have patent numbers instead of the date code.

Last edited: Aug 7, 2014
    Erik Redd likes this.
  5. Erik Redd

Erik Redd Lizabeth, baby, I'm comin' to join ya.

:signs011: Here's a good pic from the web of the Z1

[​IMG]

Luteplayers likes this.
  6. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

Welcome to TSD! Sign up for the Newbie give-away HERE

7. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave