New Razor

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Shane M. Merrick, Jun 13, 2015.

1. Shane M. Merrick

Shane M. Merrick New Member

Good afternoon everyone. I am new to DE shaving and had some question. I have been using The Art of Shaving products with a fusion razor. I noticed a difference in smoothness and how long the shave seemed to last. I have recently bought a mico touch safety razor from walmat just to try it out. The first shave didn't seem as smoth and the blade felt dull. I know I have to get use to holding the razor at a differnt angle but is there a better way, such as a different blade, or shave cream or even a better not so expensive razor?

Thank You,

Shane

2. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member

3. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
    [​IMG]
    Glad that you landed here at TSD, Shane. I'm sure you will fit right in. Check in at the Newbie forum for a proper welcome. There are much better blades than the ones that come with the micro touch razor, but you can still get a good shave with them. Prep your face to soften your beard, use a good soap or cream, and use light pressure for two or three passes. The object is beard reduction, not annihilation. You don't want cuts, nicks or irritation. However, as you are a newbie, you may have to endure some of that as you learn the proper techniques.

Join us on The Shave of the Day thread. It is fun, and you will see all kinds of products.
    And please Mark YOUR location on the TSD map:) - instructions here.

RaZorBurn123, clint64 and PatrickA51 like this.
  4. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave

A warm welcome to you from North Texas. You might want to take a look at some of the references contained in my signature line below for discussions of the 30 Day systems and more on shaving hardware and software.

With that being said ...

Welcome to the Den.

We know you'll fit right in.

So grab yourself a comfy chair,

and give our threads a spin!

Burma Shave