Newbie at the forum and a vintage Gillette Rocket flare tip purchase (photo updated)

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by dragonhf, Sep 12, 2017.

1. dragonhf

dragonhf Member

Hi all,

I´m a newbie here. I discovered the art of shaving recently.
    Before I had only used those Gillette cassette razor, I didn´t like it at all because of the all redness I got from it.
    So long time I was stuck with electric shavers, but I was never satisfied, since it didn´t give a clean look.

All started last X´mas when my elder brother gifted me a Edwin Jagger Chrome DE razor (DE89bl),
    I was surprised that it was so much better than Gillette Mach 3, no redness at all and it doesn´t cut me as I think it will do.
    Recently I had some health issue and hadn´t anything to do than surfing on the net. For occasionally I read some forum about Vintage Gillette razor and I liked the twist to open design a lot and read a lot about how good Fatboy and Slim are.
    Because of the curiosity I bought some from the eBay, but all the seller was from US. So I still waiting for it to arrive to Sweden. As more as I read about vintage razor, more I wanted one.

Suddently I found on a Swedish auction site, it says only Gillette razor made in England. It was dirty and rusted and I think like a lot of video I have seen in Youtube where people polish and clean their vintage razor that I thought it might be fun to have something to do meanwhile I´m sick and away from work.
    I got it for $16 shipped, hope it was a good price.

When I received it today, it was quite dirty. I cleaned the rust with some steel wool (a product call Svinto in Sweden), with an old toothbrush and some liquid soap. After that I polish the 2 doors with Cape Cod and the handle with a Dremel tool with red polishing wheel on low speed.
    Then I put it on ultrasonic cleaner, follow by toothbrush with soap again and rubber alcohol.
    Finally I dry it with a hairdryer and added some Ballistol Universal oil.