Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by chan4070, Feb 15, 2017.

1. chan4070

chan4070 Member

Hi, I'm Cliff and I am new to wet shaving with a safety razor. I received my first today and I am hooked. Looking forward to learning more about these tools and techniques.

2. Straight razor dandy

Straight razor dandy Stuck cleaning the house himself PERMANENTLY

Hi Cliff, welcome to the shave den. You are in the best possible spot to learn about wet shaving, so ask away.

What is your current setup (razor, blade, soap, aftershave, etc)?

3. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

Greetings from Minnesota.

4. chan4070

chan4070 Member

Hey Straight Razor. I am currently using the Edwin Jagger DE89Lbl for my razor, the Derby Extra razors that came with the Jagger however I did order a razor sample pack from Amazon when I ordered the Jagger. I am afraid to use some of the ones in the pack because I am brand new to this technique of shaving and I don't want to end up looking like Scarface. My soap right now is the Sir Hare classic barber scent but I am going to order some others once I get and idea as to what I like. My aftershave is a Dove for men balm that I got from the grocery store.

macaronus and wristwatchb like this.
  5. Straight razor dandy

Straight razor dandy Stuck cleaning the house himself PERMANENTLY

The Edwin Jagger DE89 us a great razor. I still own and use one regularly. A blade sampler is a good idea. You can get them on tryablade.com or eBay for the best prices available.
    Your soap and aftershave needs updating. Stirling soap.com has great options for both. You can also get great aftershaves at a nearby drug store. Pinaud clubman is a favorite of many (including me). Old spice, Brut, data, lectic shave are some other options.