Offhand Use When Shaving

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Kaladin, Jul 18, 2017.

1. Kaladin

Kaladin Active Member

I know this might be a somewhat less important facet of shaving, but I figured I'd ask. What do you all do with your offhand while you're shaving? Are you stretching the skin and feeling for stubble? Do you just let it rest?

I ask because I find that my offhand is pretty lazy... I've been shaving for almost two years with a safety razor but my offhand is still inept. How important is it to use that offhand to get a BBS shave?

Keithmax and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

It's your hand. Employ it your way.

Sometimes I stretch my skin, somtimes I just rest it next to the sink.

macaronus, Screwtape, Dansco and 10 others like this.
  3. swarden43

It's just shaving. Don't over think it.

macaronus likes this.
  4. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

I'm an ambidextrous shaver, so the hand that is not in use simply hands around. :) I'm not a big stretcher.

Kaladin and Herm2502 like this.
  5. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

I'm right handed and me left hand is next to useless (LOL). I shave exclusively with my right hand with occasional stretching with the hapless left hand.

Herm

Kaladin likes this.
  6. Yehuda D

Yehuda D Israeli Ambassador to TSD

My dermatologist told me that stretching the skin is not a good idea. As it is, for some reason which he and I as well as two neurologists cannot figure out, I get horrible pain if I try to stretch my skin while I'm shaving. The pain is simply unbearable.

Screwtape and Kaladin like this.
  7. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Whoa, Steve....That's some serious skin stretching if you can rest it next to the sink! My skin tends to be less elastic and it just snaps back in place after stretching.
    :D

8. Kaladin

Kaladin Active Member