preshave oil recipes

Discussion in 'Soapmaking & Lotions' started by RABIDMONKEY, Oct 4, 2010.

1. RABIDMONKEY

RABIDMONKEY Active Member

Im currently using Shavesecret and yes it works and is dirt cheap at wally world sigh but dont like the scent . My friend she owns a spa and has some experiance with making her own massage oil and feels she is upto the challenge of a preshave oil ( lime, fig and a little spice ) but i need some recipes to sorta use as a base . Thanks guys from a newbie here

2. Jaeger

Jaeger Member

I recently bought some Oscar Natural shave oils: Regular and Sensitive.

From the ingredients list, the unscented base seems to be grapeseed oil, meadowfoam seed oil, vitamin E and jojoba oil. The other oils are aromatics, but with other useful properties (lavender oil, tea tree oil, blue gum oil, menthol etc.)

You could try shaving with the massage oil as a test; my guess is it will be a bit too thick (viscous) and possibly not scented enough given the very small amounts used. If the Shave Secret oil isn't too aromatic, you could try adding a drop or two of essential/aromatic oil to it to change the scent.

Good luck!

3. RABIDMONKEY

thanks

Yeah, dead on with the massage oil to thick and lacking enough scent so many oils to use as a base .We got awhile to play with oils before november when all my bday shave equipment comes ..... so far i have some almond oil, grapeseed oil .castor oil( healing) for base

4. thevez2

thevez2 uses Gillette's new Tarantula Razor - 8 blades!!

I found a recipe online that was simply 2 parts castor oil and 1 part EV olive oil.

5. bordeaaj

bordeaaj New Member