Product Review: Parker SRW

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by jabberwock, Jun 4, 2013.

1. jabberwock

jabberwock Well-Known Member

I have been shaving with a straight razor for a few months now and, while I am far from an expert, I have a pretty good feel for what works and what doesn't. Before getting into straight razors I had been using safety razors for a while and was confident and skilled enough to get between a DFS and a BBS shave every single time. I liked the challenge and the style of using a straight razor, but I have to admit that the time required can be kind of taxing. I have a four year old daughter, a wife, a dog, a rabbit, my writing projects, work, and occasionally sleep all competing for my time...so taking twenty minutes out of my day to shave and maintain my razor is a lot to ask. It was with this in mind that I decided to try out a shavette/disposable blade straight razor/replaceable blade straight razor/barber's razor/whatever.

I did a lot of research into all of the various options, but in the end my choice was based on initial cost, ease of access to the blades, and curiosity. I chose the Parker SRW. The Parker line of replaceable blade razors currently has two different set ups, the original SR1/SR2/SRB/SRW which feather open to mount the blade or the new PTB/PTW push to open models which, obviously, use a sliding mount. The push mounts seem to have issues with blade alignment, so I decided to go for the original line. The SRW with it's faux ivory handle looked the nicest, so I picked that one up. The Parker line of razors is plagued with quality control issues, but I have owned a few Parker safety razors without any issues and I was ordering from a good vendor, so I wasn't too worried. My razor arrived last night and I took some time to play with it and examine it before jumping into my shave this morning.