remove gold plating ?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Linuxguile, May 6, 2016.

1. Linuxguile

Linuxguile dating an unusual aristocrat

Hi all, I know this question is probably not often asked. But if you wanted to remove the gold plating from a Gillette how would you do it ? I have a New Long comb with serious plate loss pretty much everywhere and I kinda like the copper/brass bare metal look. Any suggestions ?

2. Primotenore

Primotenore missed opera tunity

Article Team
    Brasso. It's aggressive. Proceed with caution. You might want to consider sealing it somehow afterwards. Word of warning. I am NOT an expert, so hopefully someone with more knowledge will respond as well.

AGHisBBS and Linuxguile like this.
  3. Jorvaljr

Jorvaljr Operation Daytona 8000

Maas also seems to remove it as well. I polish my tech and I can see where the gold was thinning

Robyflexx likes this.
  4. NickMach007

NickMach007 Member

Are you going to replate with something?

5. Linuxguile

No, it will look something like this bare metal:
    [​IMG]

6. Mbg75

Mbg75 Well-Known Member

I have a long comb that looks like that. It does not stay that shiny. You would have to lacquer it

7. Linuxguile

Maybe buffing it with renaissance wax would slow the tarnish

8. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

It's very difficult getting into all the nooks and crannies. I tried, and failed, with a long comb. The best results were with abrasive polish and a toothbrush. If you do get it looking the way you want, you will need to lacquer it, asap. They tarnish fast.
    I ended up getting it nickel plated.
    Sport Shaving sure does a nice job with the two tone look.

Carbide Mike likes this.
  9. NickMach007

NickMach007 Member