Sensitive skin vs technique

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Spud, Nov 28, 2014.

1. Spud

Spud Well-Known Member

I'm beginning to believe my skin is not as sensitive as I once thought it was.
    It is sensitive but today I used TOBS sandalwood cream (a gift from my secret Santa) and it went very well; no red blotches or rash. This cream is not advertised for sensitive skin and at one time I would be nervous to try it.
    I've been using a safety razor for eight months now and my technique has improved a lot.
    I'm thinking much of my irritation initially was due to technique. I am very pleased because this cream is terrific to lather and smells great.

2. kurtmill

kurtmill Active Member

I'm also coming to the same realization after about 8 weeks of wetshaving.

Bama Samurai, Spud and GDCarrington like this.
  3. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

Yep, I'm with you both. My initial tendency was to use mild razors (tech, for example) or an adjustable on a low setting, fearing irritation. I ended up overworking my shave resulting in irritation. As my technique improved I used more aggressive razors and found that my shaves were better with no irritation. I think the name "aggressive" could be more appropriately termed "efficient". Hey, we're all still learning!

ObiDon, Bama Samurai, Tdmsu and 3 others like this.
  4. gwsmallwood

gwsmallwood Well-Known Member

I think a lot of my sensitivity has more to do with dehydrated skin than anything else.

Bama Samurai, Spud and GDCarrington like this.
  5. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

• I read somewhere a while back that many folks (not all) who think they have sensitive skin really don't, the culprit of the irritation were cartridges. As has already been said, seems the "sensitivity" went away soon after switching to a DE.

6. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............